RSS

The Mystery of the Disappearing Logo

17 Apr

The Design Assignment, Rockwell’s Rosie Redux, is DONE. To a point. More accurately, I am done. I redid the text assignment and applied the advice I got when it was critiqued. I moved the image higher on the page, so it’s now part of the header, and it hangs down through the subhead and into the container. I found new fonts that really give a 1940’s feeling without screaming MILITARY!!! and WAR!!! I went for a much bigger font size, and a little bit of text decoration on the first letters to give it a little pop. I stuck with my vermilion, using it as a border, and also as my visited link color. My pretty navy, pulled from the painting, is the color of the pullquote and the unclicked links. I spent 2 hours wrestling with my nemesis, the proper alignment of footnote numbers. I got that squared away – I’m not happy with the sizing but since everything is on the same line, I’ll live. There’s even a link back to the portfolio page, and I added a link back on my about page. And my father told me to put my name on my about page, so I sucked it up and did it. (Because, yes, I do still listen to my daddy.)  I didn’t adjust the header on the portfolio site. I KNOW High Heels is way too far away from & Howitzers (but thank you to everyone who mentioned it, I know you’re looking out for me, but there’s a method to the madness). I did that because I had a plan to put screened out images of the shoe and gun that became the logo, but it’s too much, too busy, too bright, and I fought with it for weeks. Since I have now started a NEW portfolio page, following the new design for the final project, I haven’t changed the home page all that much. But yes, I am aware it’s a problem. It will NOT be a problem on the final project.

But. But but but but but. My wonderful logo, that I managed after several weeks of wrestling with PhotoShop, my ideas for the future project, and that neatly conveys my site without being too busy or colorful and therefore detracting from the rest of my site (meaning it’s not too noisy) – that wonderful logo for some reason simply will not appear on my design assignment. It’s on my about page, on my fixed up image assignment, even on my busted-as-hell portfolio page. The code is precisely the same – but there’s a cascade problem somewhere. When I found myself yelling at the code “Why aren’t you working????”, I figured that was the point to call it a day. Or a week, as it were.

Anyway – it’s done and up.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 17, 2011 in Project

 

One response to “The Mystery of the Disappearing Logo

  1. Jon Barth

    April 19, 2011 at 10:07 am

    I love your design page, it looks beautiful

     

Leave a Reply

 
