RSS

Small Victories

12 Apr

I’ve been playing with my image assignment and about page in an attempt to actually understand what I’m doing, instead of fumbling around in the dark. I wanted to actually have images of high heels and howitzers on the site. I found awesome pictures of a shoe and a howitzer that were oriented so that the shoe would run on the left and the gun on the right, and both would point into the site. (Cool, huh?) I also really really really really really want to have a clickable image for “go home” that is a red ruby shoe. Because there’s no place like home. Since that wish is evidence that I have clearly gone round the bend, I spent Saturday working my mad magnetic lasso skillz to take the image of the red high heeled shoe and the howitzer and turn them into silhouettes. I put them on the same background and made myself a logo!

I played with the image assignment and about pages this weekend because they have the simplest CSS, having been hand coded (about page) or seriously modified from the original template (image assignment). I now have a vermilion border offsetting the headers and my logo running down the left side of each page.Next is to fix the background of my logo. It’s white. The background of my site is that lovely silvery gray, #F5F5F5. (Yes, I memorized the hex number.) I would like the logo to blend right in with the rest of the page. Erin suggested I redo the silhouette with an original background of #F5F5F5 – which I haven’t tried yet. Hopefully that works.

I want my whole site to have a cohesive design…I’m conflicted about the text assignment page. I think what’s happening there is that I worked SO HARD on it, and I was really pleased with the final project, despite the obvious issues, and I am really loath to change it. It’s not that I fell in love with my own work, it’s more that I am Bound and Determined that my hours will have been wisely spent, and changing the design seems to throw all of that out the window. I need to get over that.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2011 in Class, Project

 

3 responses to “Small Victories

  1. ErinB

    April 13, 2011 at 8:44 am

    OR, now that we learned how to do it, you can strip out the background of the one you already did and save it as a png on a transparent background..

     
  2. Clayton Farrington

    April 14, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Hey Zayna,

    I am trying to catch up on what everyone else is doing and am heartily impressed with your silhouettes on the image and about pages but (using Firefox) I cannot see any images at all on your portfolio page.

    Have you thought about making a red ruby combat boot? Just a thought…Happy peeps!

     
    • zaynawoman

      April 14, 2011 at 6:38 pm

      I haven’t finished fixing the home page. A disclaimer to that effect will be going up today. I went with the Image and About pages because the coding is the easiest for me to work with. The home portfolio page is a beast, and it’s taking a really long time.
      I hadn’t thought of the ruby red combat boot…I will think on that. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
