RSS

Type Assignment

22 Feb

I have spent far too much time this semester ill, and this past week was no exception.  3 days of sleep might make me feel better but won’t get a website up.  Here’s what I have.  It’s obviously unfinished and I’m still working on it. I find that I am getting bogged down by my inability.  It’s the same refrain – I know how I want it to look but I just don’t know how to get it to look that way.  I’ve also found another level of footnote hell.  WHY do my <a href> elements add hard returns?  WHY???  I’m on the verge of scrapping the whole template and starting from scratch.  And i mean FROM SCRATCH.  I have the code for the webfonts, the footer, and I think I have a handle on boxes and containers.  I feel like I can get something up that won’t be pretty but I will KNOW exactly what is going on with the damn thing.  Right now, I’m just guessing.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2011 in Class, Project

 

2 responses to “Type Assignment

  1. Erika Elvander

    February 22, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    So on Friday I visited the ophthalmologist to understand why I was having these spectacular kaleidescopic periods of vision (luckily unpainful ones). He said it was an ophthalmic migraines and to reduce my stress.! I laughed.

    Needless to say, I feel your pain. Matthew Messenger can be incredibly helpful on this stuff. And in the meantime, I love your project and your visuals. I’m finding that thinking about your scholarly pursuit visually, whether or not you believe it naturally lends itself to such a medium will be an intellectual challenge that will also lead to different perspectives, and isn’t that, afterall the point? But also figuring out how to depict what you’re doing without being so ambitious that that fails as scholarship too. Hmmm.

     
  2. zaynawoman

    February 22, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I’m trying to think differently about what I’m putting up because it requires different tactics and strategies. (What? I’m a military historian.) I don’t want to just have big hunks of text on a yellow-y background. I don’t want to bore users.

    And Matt’s awesome. 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
