RSS

Success!

14 Feb

Thanks to Sasha’s helpful comment, James’s excellent teaching, and a few hours with various and sundry reference books, I have successfully embedded two different fonts into my header!  Now that the title looks the way I want, the rest of the site appears woefully inadequate.  I’ve corrected most of what we discussed last Tuesday.  I’m still working on other issues, like the spacing between active and dummy links.  However, after the hours with my reference books, I feel much more confident – I understand the differences between classes and ids now, I have a workable analogy for divs, and, most importantly, I have a better idea of what sort of architecture will work for what I have planned.  That being said, the template I used is so full of…stuff…that I’m not using that I think I may start over with a less cluttered template.

For my final project, I would like to create a more interactive version of a recent research project on images of Rosie the Riveter.  It’s also full of opportunities to use different fonts.  I remember James saying IE could only support 4 webfonts.  Also, the more webfonts I use the longer it takes to load, since I’m using free, web-based fonts.  Even though both of my fonts are Google fonts, I have been having a high old time browsing FontSquirrel.  I don’t want to get too crazy, though, and I have to strike a balance between using fonts that subtly support my research and making sure my site is still usable.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 14, 2011 in Class, Project

 

One response to “Success!

  1. Erin

    February 14, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    Ooh I like it. It’s very modern looking. It’s such a huge accomplishment. Getting it to work was like climbing Mt. Everest. Not that I know what climbing Everest feels like… I imagine it’s a similar feeling of huge accomplishment!

     

Leave a Reply

 
