RSS

Mockups!

22 Nov

Here are the mockups.  They’re extremely rough, so please imagine your way through the slideshow with me and let me know what you think.  Now, remember, the site will have to look like it belongs with the rest of the NGEF website.  I have been unable to match the look of that website, so I used a similar color scheme and got as close as I could.  Yes, it’s ugly.

A User clicks on “National Guard Memorial Museum Digital Collection” link from the main site.  User arrives at the first slide, which is the “Browse the Collection” page.  User selects “Search”, which takes him/her to slide 2.  User can search by Category, Time Period, or both.  The categories for the pulldown menus are on slides 3 and 4.

A few notes: I prefer the pulldown menu because it allows me to control the terminology and limit the amount of work on the back end.  Also, only a small percentage of items will be rendered in three dimensions.  Most of the uniforms can be photographed from all angles with a digital camera in extremely high resolution that will allow for close inspection.  However, most of the weaponry will be rendered in three dimensions.  This is a mockup of the initial few pages, designed for the more casual visitor.  I’m still working on the next step, which will be designed for a researcher.

Please review and tell me what you think!  And tell me if there are any problems accessing the presentation.  It’s in PPT 2007.

Website Mockup Digital Collection

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Mockups!

  1. lprice3

    November 22, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Why must you mock my lack of updated software?! I’m not made of money! 🙂 Can you please downsave it and email it to me?

     
  2. colamaria

    November 23, 2009 at 12:28 am

    I like the format, though for some reason the yellow GO button seems to clash? I know nothing about matching colors, so don’t take my word for it.

     
    • zaynawoman

      November 23, 2009 at 12:44 am

      Remember the comment about ugly? 🙂 They have this nice dark gold that highlights to a really soft, pale yellow that I just couldn’t manage to match. I’ll have to fiddle more with powerpoint to make it prettier. I got the colors mostly matched, though. I’m still working on it.

       
  3. colamaria

    November 23, 2009 at 1:10 am

    actually I thought the colors and style were quite nice, definitely not ugly. it was just that yellow button that threw me off.

     
  4. rclarke980

    November 23, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    I actually like the yellow go button. It draws the user’s attention to the next step in the process. Also, it flows with the other pages in that the other buttons are of the same color. Bri

     

Leave a Reply

 
