RSS

Lev Manovich

07 Sep

I’ve read some blog posts about Manovich and I must say, I’ve been somewhat scared by them.  The only people who didn’t seem to have much trouble with the technical theory are those with considerably more experience than I have.  My instinct therefore was to read the book within easy reach of a technology translator.  But I’m not having much trouble understanding the book so far.  Of course, I’m about 1/3 through so it may get worse.  The descriptions in the introduction led me to believe that i would have the most trouble with chapter two, and that was no problem.   I’ll have to see how the rest of the book goes.  That being said, the main issue I have with the book so far is that it’s outdated.  Using Myst, Doom and Tomb Raider as examples of cutting edge gaming tech really dates the book.

**Quick note – how much of new technology comes from gaming?  There’s a show on – the future of play.  It’s talking about alternative reality gaming, pervasive gaming, a tactile vest that allows the wearer to feel strikes from the game, and a virtual reality sphere which takes a major step towards creating an entire virtual reality universe.  Something Manovich touches on but so far has not articulated is that the entertainment industry is usually where innovation begins.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 7, 2009 in Readings

 

One response to “Lev Manovich

  1. gmucoxn

    September 8, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    I think he uses video games because those were the most advanced aspects of computers the most knew about at the time. I think if he had written it today he would have talked about social networking sites and advanced websites for museums, libraries, etc.

     

Leave a Reply

 
