RSS

Just Keep Truckin’

25 Apr

OK. DreamWeaver and I have made up, at least enough to get the final project completed and up. Oh, and the actual paper: Rockwell’s Rosie Redeemed. I look forward to suggestions you all might have tomorrow. I’m pleased with the look, the content is sharp and concise, my stupid freaking footnotes work, and I have working navigation. And – I think most importantly – for the first time, I felt confident enough in my coding abilities to work from one master style sheet rather than a separate one. I have empty divs on some pages but that’s OK.

I’ve had different songs in my head throughout the semester, and tonight, after far too many hours of confusion, clarity, frustration, angst, triumph and satisfaction, I can say tonight’s Grateful Dead song is quite appropriate.

What a long, strange trip it’s been.

And – Just keep truckin’.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2011 in Project

 

5 responses to “Just Keep Truckin’

  1. Laura

    April 26, 2011 at 7:38 am

    Rosie looks great. The text on this site is so darned readable Zayna!

    A small suggestion for eventual editing (not by tonight). Look at Dr. Petrik’s article on footnotes again. If that is confusing, ask me. She has instructions on superscripting them that will help the numbers pop out a bit.

     
  2. Kellie

    April 26, 2011 at 11:38 am

    I like the song. I agree with Laura and this font is great and is a very readable page. I like that you kept the high heel howizter border on the main page, but for Rosie, I am glad you took it out. Your content is wonderful. Have you thought about a further reading page or for more information on the period page – a mini bibliography?

     
  3. ErinB

    April 26, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    Gorgeous! And I third the readability of the font. I read through it and a minor suggestion (not for tonight) would be to add some sort of breadcrumb or you are here indicator. It could be as simple as putting a (page 2 of 6) somewhere near your previous and next, just to help with wayfinding. It’s gorgeous Zayna, you should be very proud.

     
  4. Erika Elvander

    May 2, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Oh dear lord — now I have two 60s icons singing in my head — Jerry G from you, and Grace Slick from Erin. My ex-husband is laughing at me somewhere.

    Love the new site and congrats on keeping your camp on i nthe midst of the academics…

     
  5. Emily Sprouse

    May 2, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    sorry that it looks like I missed your presentation last week! (flu… ugh) Love the site. I figure we’ll all be tweaking these until the 11th hour. Can you even imagine where we started on these sites a few months ago? Whenever you feel frustrated, just go back to your original front page… it’ll instantly make you feel better!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

