RSS

Mystery Dodged, Not Solved

18 Apr

I found it. Kinda. My logo, that is. My original plan was to have the vertical strip of my logo down the left of the screen like my about and updated image assignment, while i worked on building a header with the logo and nav included to go at the top of the page, rather than at the bottom. So. Because of the mysteriously disappearing logo, I moved straight to the new header. Which you can see here. And while there’s still some clean up to do, I rather like this.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2011 in Project

 

6 responses to “Mystery Dodged, Not Solved

  1. ErinB

    April 18, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Hey look at that! I like it!

    You have permission to kick me if this is too nit-picky, but you might want to think about the relative sizing of things. Your site title and your page title are the same size. Where should my eye go first? That should be the biggest thing. Immediately mine go to the logo, then to Ms. Rosie. I skip right over the text (and the navigation). This might be okay if that is what you want.

    As I’ve said before, that vermillion and the blue are stunning! I love those little accents of bright color – it pulls your whole design together!

     
  2. Laura

    April 18, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    I agree with Erin. Perhaps resizing your text using the modular scale tool (http://modularscale.com/) that James told us about in the Web Fonts Video will help you come up with dimensions that emphasize the right sections.

    I do love your new banner. I especially like (and tell me if my screen is just wonky) that it lilts up to the right just a touch. That’s kind of a cool effect and it draws my eye across right to Rosie.

    I am impressed by how much you’ve improved since January, Zayna. This site is awesome and I can tell you’ve worked very, very hard. Bravo!

     
  3. Emily Sprouse

    April 18, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Thanks for the reply! Lollipop Guild is now in MY head!
    I’d love to know how to managed to get such a cool theme for your blog.
    Can you actually edit your blog’s appearance the same way you can your website? I feel like I read about this, but have no recollection!?!?! hmm.

    I agree with Erin and Laura that your site looks fantastic! Very nice! I feel like you’ve leapt instead of creeping like me. But we all learn in stages, eh??!! :) NIce work!

     
    • zaynawoman

      April 19, 2011 at 9:39 am

      There’s a reason why it’s called a breakthrough – all of a sudden, 2 weeks ago, I UNDERSTOOD HTML and CSS. I don’t know what happened to make the leap, but there you go.

      I edit my blog by changing the theme in WordPress. Go to your dashboard and open the appearance button. there’s a button called themes. Be careful though, it’s a SERIOUS time suck! :D

       
  4. zaynawoman

    April 19, 2011 at 9:43 am

    @Erin and Laura – Thanks for the feedback! No, I won’t kick you for it – I managed to not throw something large and heavy at my husband this weekend when he nitpicked something even bigger, so you’re safe! As far as the sizing goes, I’m still fiddling with the design for the whole final project. I want the whole header to be smaller on internal pages, and I do want the eye to immediately go to Rosie on this page. But i’m not sure how much I want to emphasize the header. I’m thinking about reducing the image size even more, making the whole header/nav smaller and increasing the text. But for now, it’s done and I’ll see what the comments are in class tonight.

    and THANK YOU ALL for your kind words!

     
  5. Clayton Farrington

    April 19, 2011 at 11:51 am

    You have inspired me to try putting little televisions into the background of my site, but keeping them small. I find myself wondering if you don’t have to decide between putting the silhouette logos to the side or the top, instead lining the page with them, and putting just two that are not silhouetted in the header.

    It’s not like I would know how to make that happen, but it’s a thought. I have not reached the eureka moment just yet. Coding of course requires a rarefied form of literacy and it sucks to realize that you’re dyslexic.

    I really like the drop caps at the beginning of the paragraphs and the pull quote, which I found unintentionally funny when it occurred to me that, if Rockwell really painted life as he wanted it to be, possibly means that he likes women with ‘big guns,’ and this of course means that he is a perfect subject for a site called “High Heels & Howitzers.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

